The National Nominating Committee is looking for recommendations

for the Office of President. 

This individual would serve two years as National President-Elect  

and two years are President .

Complete the APA Candidate Recommendation Form.

Our Mission

The Mission of APA is to offer opportunities for professional development and personal growth for those called by God to serve as support staff of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). This mission is accomplished by providing continuing education events for certification and occasions for fellowship, worship, and spiritual nurture and prayer at both national and regional meetings as well as seminary sponsored training events. (adopted July 1999)

History of APA

A request from twelve women attending a Business Administration Course at the Presbyterian School of Christian Education (PSCE) in Richmond, VA laid the groundwork for a professional organization to be created. There was a need and desire for an association for lay employees in the offices of the churches/boards/agencies of the PC(USA) denomination. Thus, the Administrative Personnel Association, PC(USA) was founded in 1976 by Joyce Bauer as the Presbyterian Secretarial Association of the Southern Church (PCUS). Within two years, the UPCUSA church staff was invited to join as they had no similar association.

This Association continues to grow and currently has members across the country in five regions (Atlantic, Heartland, Pacific, Southeast, and Southwest). Annual national and regional conference are held in various locations.

OUr Regions

The Administrative Personnel Association has five regions.

  • Atlantic Region (Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia)
  • Heartland Region (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin)
  • Pacific Region (Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington)
  • Southeast Region (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Tennessee)
  • Southwest Region (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, Wyoming)